The revolt of technology

Technology, there’s really nothing quite like it, nor is there anything that so easily steals what little money you have in your pocket…. well except vehicles, but don’t even get me started there.I’ve been fairly silent lately as I’ve been busy but also I loath the technology that allows me to write, even though it’s not completely the fault of my laptop.

I’ve been fairly silent lately as I’ve been busy but also I loath the technology that allows me to write, even though it’s not completely the fault of my laptop.

I own a very nice laptop, or should I say I owned a very nice laptop until the most expensive night in resulted in it getting a shower on my deck.

Spending the money to get it fixed I swallowed my pain as I realized I lost many of the pictures I had on the laptop as I had not backed it up prior to the shower…. I know, I know, stupid me.

Getting the computer back it’s been sluggish at best since then but I was at least still able to use it for work and for writing until the other week when my word program decided to just stop working.

Sure it might have to do with the fact that I had documents open in it for weeks, but alas I’m stuck with the dreaded programs that come with my laptop, like text edit.

For those who aren’t writers this might not be a big deal, hell maybe for anyone this isn’t a big deal but to me it is and having borrowed the program from work, using a disc that has since been lost by a coworker, I am up the creek without a paddle as they say.

Currently, I am writing this with the dreaded text edit. There is no reason for me to hate this inanimate object or program so much, after all, it does exactly what it’s supposed to, write. But the fact is I still do.

The simplicity of it bothers me, the lack of creative options is annoying, and my OCD does not tolerate it. After all, I’m perfectly capable of crafting what I like to consider witty thought-provoking pieces on just about anything. Hell, I wrote my last column for work on my smart phone using the memo program that only allows a limited number of characters in each file.

There I was sitting in the doctor’s office writing memo after memo about my hatred for PETA, which I have to admit is a deceiving way to write as it always makes your work seem sooooo much longer than it actually is.

Since I am writing this on a dreaded program I’m going to keep it short, I just thought I might as well check in since it’s been so long.

Off of work this week I had very few options for where I could write my program, but as I’m back to work next week I shall have to take half an hour or so at least once or twice a week to craft something up and keep this blogging attempt moving forward.

Off work this week, I had very few options for where I could write my program, but as I’m back to work next week I shall have to take half an hour or so at least once or twice a week to craft something up and keep this blogging attempt moving forward.

We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works.
― Douglas Adams, The Salmon of Doubt

Leave a Reply

