Silver lining… or is it orange? Red?

Welcoming sunrise

Welcoming sunrise

I won’t deny that I am not even remotely a morning person. I love to sleep and I thoroughly enjoy the warmth and comfort of my bed in the morning.

In Alberta, summer days are long and start early. For those further south, a 4 am start to the day can be hard to get used to, but the 11 pm sunset is much easier to stomach.

Not being a morning person summer sunrises are a rarity for me to witness and I have to admit I don’t lose any sleep over it, especially when it makes for long days that can be spent outdoors enjoy the sun and the warm temperatures.

But now that things are beginning to cool down, so is the sun.

Instead of 4 am sunrises that bright ball of gas doesn’t rare its head until 8 am, and sadly leaves us way too soon.

What started as nearly 20 hours of sunlight has quickly turned to only 12 and sadly soon it will only be eight.

Although the disappearing sun can be depressing, there is a silver lining to that cloud, because later sunrises mean I don’t miss out on the fiery skies of the morning.

At sunrise everything is luminous but not clear.
― Norman Maclean

Leave a Reply

